Maze Runner…Questions and More Questions

The Maze Runner (Maze Runner, #1)

The Maze Runner James Dashner Book1 Rating 4

 

I’ve been reading the Maze Runner series by James Dashner lately. I saw a preview for the movie when I went to Divergent (which was A-Mazing!) and knew I had to read the series before I’d allow myself to even think about going to the theatre. (The kid from Game of Thrones is in it, so it must be good, right?)

I finished Maze Runner in a day/night. I couldn’t stop reading it. Why were these kids stuck in a place with no conceivable way out except through a dangerous maze? Why didn’t they have their memories? Why was there now a girl in a previously all boys place? Basically I kept reading to find answers to all the questions, which honestly just lead to more questions….but I liked it.

Thomas, our main character, is a hero. He’s super smart, strong, and a born leader with a bit of a reckless streak. I do enjoy the other prominent characters in the series too, they all have very unique personalities. (I won’t go into details though because I don’t want to spoil Maze Runner for anyone.)

The Scorch Trials (Maze Runner, #2)

The Scorch Trials Maze Runner Book 2 James Dashner Rating: 3.5

So here’s the gist of Maze Runner:

This group of kids is stuck in a maze where if they leave the center of it, the Glade, and don’t get back before the walls close them in at night, bad “things,” called Grievers, will kill them. Otherwise, if they stay in the Glade they get weekly supplies and have a system set up where different people work different parts of the Glade. Pretty nice right? This is all great until the girl shows up and their normal routine goes down the tube. Oh yeah, and everyone in the Glade has had their memory wiped…

We see everything from Thomas’s view and Thomas is full of questions. Fueled along by Thomas’s curiosity, this story flew by for me….and ended with more questions. So I hurried and got the second book in the series, The Scorch Trials, which also ended with more…yes, you got it, questions. However, I’m hooked and I desperately need the third book!

 

 

Posted on May 18, 2014, in Book Reviews, Young Adult and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

